BNO Company.jpg

West London’s Dance Company for adults 55+

Launched in March 2018, the Bolder not Older Dance provides adults aged 55+ an opportunity to take part in a weekly class, work alongside professional choreographers and perform at national platforms. The Bolder not Older Company celebrates the artistic integrity of older dancers, and challenges preconceptions of what it means to be older. We offer three company classes a week in Hammersmith & Fulham, Richmond and Kensington and Chelsea.

Photos: Ellie Kurttz/Elixir Extracts/Sadler’s Wells

Bolder not Older Co Class: Hammersmith

Macbeth Centre, Macbeth Street, W6 9JJ

  1. Monday 23 September 1.30-2.30pm

  2. Monday 30 September 1.30-2.30pm

  3. Monday 7 October 1.30-2.30pm

  4. Monday 14 October 1.30-2.30pm

  5. Monday 28 October 1.30-2.30pm

  6. Monday 4 November 1.30-2.30pm

  7. Monday 11 November 1.30-2.30pm

  8. Monday 18 November 1.30-2.30pm

  9. Monday 25 November 1.30-2.30pm

  10. Monday 2 December 1.30-2.30pm

Nearest Tube station: Hammersmith (District, Circle, Hammersmith & City) short walk of 6 minutes. Buses 27, 190, 211, 266, 267, 295, 391, H91.

Bolder not Older Co Class: Richmond

The Exchange, 75 London Road Twickenham, TW1 1BE

  1. Wednesday 25 September 10.00-11.00am

  2. Wednesday 2 October 10.00-11.00am

  3. Wednesday 9 October 10.00-11.00am

  4. Wednesday 16 October 10.00-11.00am

  5. Wednesday 30 October 10.00-11.00am

  6. Wednesday 6 November 10.00-11.00am

  7. Wednesday 13 November 10.00-11.00am

  8. Wednesday 20 November 10.00-11.00am

  9. Wednesday 27 November 10.00-11.00am

  10. Wednesday 4 December 10.00-11.00am

Nearest train station: Twickenham (immediately opposite the station). Buses 281, 267, 110.

Bolder not Older Co Class: Kensington and Chelsea

The Tabernacle, 35 Powis Square, W11 2AY

  1. Friday 27 September11.30-12.30

  2. Friday 4 October 11.30-12.30

  3. Friday 11 October 11.30-12.30

  4. Friday 18 October 11.30-12.30

  5. Friday 1 November 11.30-12.30

  6. Friday 8 November 11.30-12.30

  7. Friday 15 November 11.30-12.30

  8. Friday 22 November 11.30-12.30

  9. Friday 29 November 11.30-12.30

  10. Friday 6 December 11.30-12.30

Nearest Tube stations: Ladbroke Grove (Hammersmith & City) Westbourne Park (Hammersmith & City) Notting Hill Gate (Circle, Central and District). Buses 27, 28, 52, 328, 452 bus.

How do I join the Company? Please email projects@dancewest.co.uk or call 0208 741 6850/ 07494513079.

Do you offer trial sessions?  Yes please contact us if you would like to take part in a trial session.

Do I need previous dance experience? No previous dance experience is needed but passion and commitment are required.

How do I pay for classes?

By BACS & Cheque: projects@dancewest.co.uk, cheques to be made by DanceWest London LTD.

Online:

Bolder not Older Co Class


Previous events

Elixir Festival 2019

The Bolder not Older took part in Elixir Festival at Sadler’s Wells this June. Celebrate lifelong creativity with the platform dedicated to older artists. The festival features a performance from Company of Elders.

Performance - Friday 6th July 2018

BNO3 copy.jpg

The Bolder not Older Dance Company were commissioned to create a new work to celebrate 400 years of Hammersmith United Charities. An audience of 250 attended the event at St Pauls Church and the performance included choreography from a weekend intensive spent with Robert Cohan MBE. 

 

 

 

Intensive weekender with Robert Cohan - Saturday 9th and Sunday 10th June 2018

Robert Cohan and DW_bw.jpg

Robert Cohan will work with the Bolder not Older company over an intensive weekender contributing towards a piece that the group are working towards – for Friday 6th July opening Hammersmith United Charities 400th celebrations. Robert Cohan’s influence on the development of modern dance in Britain has been considerable. Having pioneered the teaching of contemporary dance technique in Britain, he was instrumental in the development of a vast following, not only for the repertory of LCDT in the ‘70s and ‘80s but through his pioneering residencies throughout the country, which laid the groundwork for the many other British companies that have grown up in the last 20 tears. Robert will be supported by founder of the Cohan Collective and Artistic Director Yorke Dance Project - Yolande Yorke–Edgell. 

Supporters

150_1 _RICH_CC_Logo Branding_Civic Pride.png
Foundation logo as picture.png
logo-LBHF.png

Venue partners

resize.png
sw400x400.jpg
006.jpg

Copyright © 2019 DanceWest